Vincentian Ashram Ghoradongri

Established Year1998
PatronOur Lady of Veilankanny
Diocese Nagpur
AddressVincentian Ashram, Near Railway Station, Ghoradongri P.O., Betul Dt., 460443, Madhya Pradesh, India.
Phone07146 248343


01. Fr. Naickomparambil Varghese - Asst. Provincial Superior & Superior V.H.; Parish Priest



It is our Vincentian house cum parish under the Archdiocese of Nagpur, Betul district in Madhya Pradesh. According to the invitation of Most Rev. Abraham Viruthakulalangara - the Archbishop of Nagpur, Fr. Varghese Naickomparampil, the then Provincial Superior of St. Thomas Province, with Fr. Jose Prayaruthottam, one of the Provincial Councillors, visited the  place and reported. Accordingly the Provincial council took the decision to take up the mission. The rectory with the surrounding property was handed over to the Province.  Our Vincentian house and parish was officially inaugurated and blessed by the Archbishop on 22nd June 1999.

Some Catholics came to this area in 1961, because of the coal mines at Patharlera and MPEB Thermal Power Station in Sarani. They were going to Ittarsi and Betul for their spiritual needs, especially on Christmas and Easter. In 1963, Fr. Rodricks offered Holy Mass for the first time in Sarani for about 200 Christians of all denominations. With the efforts of these Christians in Sarani, (Catholics, Orthodox, Marthoma) constructed one community church at Sarani. It was named St. Thomas Church and was inaugurated on 8th October 1984. In 1992 Gohradongri was raised to parish. A Church in honor of Our Lady of Velankanni, and a residence of the priests were constructed by Fr. Dominic Fargose in 1992. And he was appointed as the first Parish Priest.

On 22 June 1999, this Mission Parish was entrusted to St. Thomas Vice-Province of Vincentian Congregation. Fr. Mathew Elamplakattu was appointed as Parish priest and Fr. Jacob Chennath as Asst. Parish priest. In different times the following Priests of the Province were working here as Parish priests or as Assistants: Johny Vettickal, Varghese Kottackal, Joseph Puthussery, Joseph Vembadanthara, Rocky Pallipadan, Thomas Kolenchery and Martin Pynadath. Now Fr. Varghese Naickomparampil is the Parish Priest from 29 August 2016.